Ralph Coats Roe Award

2022 Roe Award Winner: Joseph J. Rencis

Cofounder of Burns and Roe, Inc., Ralph Coats Roe was an avid investigator of better methods. He held nearly 50 patents generally relating to improvements for power plants and air conditioning. As recipient of the ASME George Westinghouse Gold Medal, Mr. Roe was cited for pioneering in the design and construction of highly efficient power plants and advanced desalting processes and for inspiring colleagues by great achievements through self education and highly sophisticated technologies
The Award: The award is sponsored by the Mechanical Engineering Division and consists of a $10,000 honorarium, a plaque and travel expense reimbursement for attendance at the ASEE Annual Conference. The award is funded by an endowment provided by Burns and Roe, Inc. in honor of Kenneth A. Roe's distinguished father.
Qualifications: The award recognizes a mechanical engineering educator who is an outstanding teacher and who has made the following notable professional contributions:
1.  The professional contribution may be in any appropriate category including excellence in classroom and laboratory teaching; developing a significant technique or method of analysis, procedure or synthesis; causing learning to take place through contact with students; involving students and colleagues with innovative aspects of design through problems that are relevant to real life situations; conceiving an idea of great importance to the advancement of the engineering profession or engineering education; teaching, directing or conducting significant research; providing outstanding administrative leadership; creating an important invention; carrying out distinguished service and leadership to the college, the community, the nation or to mankind.
2.  Only mechanical engineering educators who are known for their excellence in teaching are eligible, and those nominated should have exhibited this outstanding performance for at least a decade.
3.  Except for in an emergency, the recipient must attend the Mechanical Engineering Division award ceremony at the ASEE Annual Conference.
4.  The recipient must be a full-time member of a college faculty and actively engaged in teaching at the time that the award winner is selected.
Nomination: Nominations may be made by any member of the Mechanical Engineering Division. The nominee need not be a member of the division or of ASEE.
All award nominations must be received at ASEE Headquarters no later than January 15th.
Nomination guidelines may be found at:   http://www.asee.org/member-resources/awards/guidelines/awards-nomination-guidelines

Previous Award Recipients
2021 Yiannis Levendis
2020 Bobby Crawford
2019 Ramesh Agarwal
2018 Autar Kaw
2017 Michael Peshkin
2016 no award
2015 Ashwani Gupta
2014 Panos Papalambros
2013 Rajendra Singh
2012 Sheri Sheppard
2011 Dennis Assanis
2010 Richard H. Crawford
2009 Stephen R. Turns
2008 Latif M. Jiji
2007 William N. Sharpe, Jr.
2006 Dan Turner
2005 Gary Kinzel
2004 William J. Wepfer
2003 Richard O. Buckius
2002 Christina H. Amon
2001 Michael J. Moran
2000 Adrian Bejan
1999 K.L. (Larry) DeVries
1998 Christian Przirembel
1997 C.D. (Dan) Mote, Jr.
1995 Jack P. Holman
1994 John H. Lienhard
1993 Lawrence A. Kennedy
1992 Philip S. Schmidt
1991 C.R. Mischke
1990 A.L. Addy
1989 William Z. Black
1988 W.J. Minkowycz
1987 John R. Howell
1986 Werner Soedel
1985 G. N. Sandor
1984 I. Glassman
1983 L.S. (Skip) Fletcher
1982 Frank P. Incropera
1981 J.W. Swedlow
1980 W.F. Stoecker
1979 Robert H. Page
1978 Ephraim M. Sparrow
1977 Stothe P. Kezios
1976 John R. Dixon
1975 B.T. Chao